Why Are You Reading This?


Hmm... What to put in here?

Hmm… What to put in here?

I’ve really come to love blogging. For years I’ve had all kinds of strange thoughts running around in my head, like a big party where all the guests are patients at a mental institution. I’ve had to keep them all locked up inside this mental bunker I call my brain. But blogging has allowed me to let these thoughts run free on the world and now that they’re out there terrorizing others, they tend to leave me alone.

What? Oh yeah, sorry about that. I’m sure they’ll calm down eventually.

Or not.

I’ve also begun to understand that blogging is a process of discovery. To borrow a very well placed analogy from the movie “Shrek“, I am like an ogre… wait, no that’s not right. Advance that forward a bit. I am like an onion (ok, here we are). I have layers. And the more I blog, the more layers I peel back and the more I discover about myself. For example, I learned just the other day that contrary to a long-held belief of mine, I am actually not Spiderman’s alter ego, Peter Parker. Huh. Who knew?

I thought when I started this venture (which is defined as a risky or daring journey or undertaking) that I was just going to practice my writing skills and find my voice. Well golly gosh gee whiz, I’ve gone WAY beyond that. Finding my voice? It’s been more like throwing a megaphone into a prison riot. I’ve got so many bizarre personalities bubbling out of my head now I feel they should start wearing name tags.

“Hi, I’m paranoid delusions and you are? Oh, right, there it is right on your little sticker there. Nice to meet you egomaniacal jerk.”

Writing is cathartic for me in the way that letting off steam is what keeps a pressure cooker from rearranging your kitchen with a huge explosion. I’ve started using the expression “Leave the crazy on the page”. It makes it easier to fool all the “normal” people into thinking I’m one of them. Well, until they read my blog, I suppose. Yeah, I guess I didn’t think that one through all the way. Oh well, live and learn, right?

One of the best parts of blogging, I have discovered (and this is one of those unexpected treats like when someone offers you a brownie and you’re thinking it’s just an ordinary brownie but when you bite into it you realize it has nuts and caramel in it and all your brain can think is “Mmm, this is awesome”) is that I am not alone in this big world of crazy. I’ve found many kindred spirits in the blogosphere (Ha! Got to use that word again). As I peruse the works of others, I realized that my crazy is bush league compared to some of the very talented writers out there. One beautiful soul I’ve recently found has such a fantastic way of telling stories (she illustrates her well written and terribly funny pieces) that I can’t seem to stop reading her posts. Her site is called Problems With Infinity – Tales of a Delusional Maniac. If you enjoy any of my writing (or even if you don’t) you should probably give her page a look. If you really want your mind blown, take a look at Dharma and Belligerence: Mad Rants from a Free-Range Buddhist Hooligan. Best if viewed while under the influence of a cognitive altering substance.

Of course, don’t forget to come back. The party still rages on here too. I promise, I haven’t even begun to dip into the truly unique and fascinating ideas inside my head yet. This has all been a big dress rehearsal. I am pretty sure the best is yet to come. (This is what the Public Relations person for my brain is telling me anyway. I don’t know. Those people are always full of crap so take that with a grain of salt)

Ok, right, so… Good talk. I’m not sure where I was going with all of this but… yeah. I feel better. Do you feel better? Were you entertained? Amused? Annoyed? I don’t know. In any case, I think we can all agree this was highly productive for at least one of us and we should probably meet back here tomorrow for another meeting of the minds. Help yourself to any of the brownies that are left on your way out. Great. Thanks. Buh bye now.

~V

2 thoughts on “Why Are You Reading This?

  1. Much appreciation for the shout-out! And, now that you ask, I DO feel better. Unfortunately, my shift here is near done. Not sure who is up next in the control room, but odds are they are unstable, restless, and deranged. Cheers!

    Like

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

