The Spark


fireflies

I don’t know where it lives. I don’t really know what calls it to me. I just know that when it comes, magic happens. I speak of the spark of creativity that fills my head and finds its way into my words. All writers and poets and painters and sculptors know the spark. It comes in a flash, almost a blaze and burns hot while it’s here and then it disappears. While it burns, and the raw, molten idea is fresh and malleable, the artist must work quickly. We forge it into existence using our tools. Words, paint, clay, they are all the same. That spark is life and it is truth and we simply give it form. I believe I am nothing more than its servant, existing as a conduit from its world into ours. Capturing it within us is like catching fireflies in a jar.

Trying to write without the spark is like trying to paint a rainbow with gray colored paint. There may be shape, but there is no life, no color, no voice. I think I, like so many who channel the spark live in fear that one day it will simply not return. Either we lose the ability to call it to us or the spark decides it needs us no longer. This happens to even the best artists. Our favorite author no longer captivates us with his stories. Our favorite bands make albums of music that sound flat and boring.

I believe the spark is more than just the ability to see the world with different eyes. For me it is a presence, visceral and real. I feel almost Jedi-like when I have it and so very ordinary when I don’t. It’s just a matter of relaxing and letting the energy flow. If done correctly, it is effortless.

You can see it gleaming in the eye of the woodworker and the architect. You an hear it in the dulcet tones of the musician and composer. It burns in the heart of the explorer and those who defy the odds and follow that path less traveled. Some believe it is of divine origin and others feel that it is quintessentially human. I don’t know and I don’t care. I feel it when it’s here and I know when it’s gone. And after it’s gone there is nothing to do but stop and wait for it to return.

Just as I’m doing now.

~V

 

 

2 thoughts on “The Spark

    • I know exactly what you mean. I promised myself I would blog at least 5 times a week, but in the end, I think it’s better to embrace quality over quantity. And thank you for taking the time to comment. I appreciate it. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

