Game of Thrones Season 5 Recap


Farewell Jon Snow. RIP.

Farewell Jon Snow. RIP.

[I shouldn’t have to say there are spoilers in this article. If you have not watched GoT’s Season Five in its entirety, you might not want to read the following piece]

 

It’s actually taken me several days to collect myself after the season finale of Game of Thrones. The final episode, “Mother’s Mercy” took its toll on me, as it has for many other fans across the globe. Oddly enough, the ending came as no surprise (unlike the results of “The Rains of Castamere” or “The Mountain and the Viper”). As I’ve mentioned in other articles, I am not a reader of A Song of Ice and Fire, so what I know is taken only from the television show. There was a time when I never would have believed GRRM or Weiss and Benioff would kill off Jon Snow, but as we all know by now, ALL MEN MUST DIE.

As I said, the ending, while tragic and heartbreaking, came as no surprise to me. I was actually waiting for it. I’d seen the signs (guess I’m a better prognosticator than Melisandre). I took the hints the show runners threw at us: The way Olly looked at Jon, the conversation Olly had with Sam, where Sam told him he had to do what he felt was best, even if it would seem wrong to others, the conversation Olly had with Jon, where Olly wanted Jon to confirm that his plan to rescue the Wildlings was just a ploy, the growing discontent within the Watch regarding Jon’s decisions, etc. These all pointed to the inevitable. Jon Snow must die.

Is he dead?

Is he dead?

Now of course, we’ll have speculation after speculation regarding the outcome of the stabbing. Some hypothesize that Jon warged into Snow or that Melisandre will find him and bring him back through the power of the Red God. No one wants to believe that he’s really gone.

Jon was my second favorite character behind Tyrion. Losing him is painful. I want to believe he’ll be back, but according to an article by Entertainment Weekly, show runner D.B. Weiss said

Dead is dead.” “We would hope that after seeing the scene and the way it’s shot that the answer to that will be unambiguous in the minds of the people watching it,” Weiss explained. “It should be pretty clear what happens in by the time you’re done seeing that scene. It’s not an, ‘Oh what just happened scene?’”

In addition, Kit Harrington, when asked if he thought his character was really dead, told EW in a recent interview,

“This is my understanding of it. I had a sit-down with Dan and David, we did the Tony Soprano walk [letting an actor know they’re being whacked]. And they said, “Look, you’re gone, it’s done.” And as far as the salary thing goes, that angered me when that story came out. I don’t know where it came from, but it was inaccurate in many ways. It’s going to put questions into your head and into fans’ heads that things are not what they are. Quite honestly, I have never been told the future of things in this show, but this is the one time I have. They sat me down and said, “This is how it is.” If anything in the future is not like that, then I don’t know about it – it’s only in David and Dan and George’s heads. But I’ve been told I’m dead. I’m dead. I’m not coming back next season. So that’s all I can tell you, really.”

So there you have it. I don’t like it, but I’ve come to accept that being a fan of GoT means sacrifice. Lots and lots of sacrifice. In the end, perhaps the payoff is worth it because I will continue to watch, regardless of who dies (come see me again if Tyrion kicks the bucket and see if I still agree with that last statement).

Season Five certainly moved the story of the two continents of Westeros and Essos along quite rapidly. Tyrion and Varys are in Meereen, Stannis was in the North, Brienne and Sansa returned to Winterfell (Well ok, Brienne is waiting just outside), Jaime and Bron are in Dorne, and Cersei… well she’s still in Kings Landing but that’s another story.

There were things about Season Five I enjoyed:

1. Most of the characters I like didn’t die. (Tyrion, Varys, Brienne, Podrick, Arya, Jaime, Bronn, Sam)

2. Some of the characters I didn’t like got their comeuppance. (Cersei, Stannis, Janos Slynt)

3. Drogon’s return (Ok, he didn’t do too much, but he saved his ‘mommy’ and tore up some Harpies at the critical moment so… yeah)

4. Jon killed a White Walker with Valyrian steel. (Won’t help much, but at least there’s something other than dragon glass that works)

5. Tyene Sand’s boobies. Lord they are magnificent! The most beautiful woman in the world.

Tyene Sand

There were things about Season Five I did NOT enjoy:

1. The death and betrayal of Jon Snow (Fuck the Watch. No seriously, Fuck the Watch.)

2. The Boltons still live and hold Winterfell. (The North remembers… so let’s see The North do something about it)

3. Jorah got Greyscale (Ok, he’s never been my favorite character, but that’s a shitty way to die. I hope he can find a cure)

4. Olly. (Fuck Olly. I can’t say this loudly enough. FUCK OLLY! I know you hate the Wildlings. Too bad. You’re dead to me.)

In fact, on that last item, I would venture to guess I am not alone in how my hatred of characters progressed through Season Five:

Begining of season – Me: Damn I hate Cersei! She’s now the worst character on this show!

End of episode 6 – Me: That rotten Ramsay Bolton! Despicable piece of shit! He’s the worst character on this show!

End of episode 9 – Me: Holy Shit Stannis, you burned your daughter alive? You’re now the worst character on this show!

End of episode 10 – Me: Fuck you, Olly! I hope you die! You’re the worst… eh… No, now I’m back to Ramsay again.

So now we wait. And wait. Winter is coming, but not fast enough. Sigh.

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

