How to Use This Blog


How to use this blog

It occurred to me that many non-fiction books, especially “How-to” and text books often have a section at the beginning called “How to use this book” or something in that fashion. This shows the reader the most efficient way to utilize the information contained therein. Sometimes reading in a linear fashion is not the best way to find what one needs so sections of information can be grouped in different ways.

I’ve decided to do that with my blog. I started blogging for a few reasons. First, I wanted a method and outlet to encourage myself to write on a regular basis. In the past I have been lazy with my writing and I knew I needed to teach myself discipline and to write consistently. Secondly, I wanted to publish my work publicly in order to get feedback on my content and style. A writer cannot grow without feedback. Finally, I wanted to use my blog as a repository for my different styles so that potential employers who wished to view a portfolio of my work could reference my articles to evaluate my skills and (hopefully) offer me opportunities to write professionally.

It is for the final reason that I now list a selection of articles based on style and content. For anyone that is considering hiring me for my writing ability, you can use this guide to peruse my blog and select the type of content you think would be most appropriate for your needs. If you don’t see anything that quite fits what you’re looking for, let me know and I can write custom articles for your review.

I have intentionally included some articles under more than one heading as they fall under different categories.

Informational (Objective)

5 New Technologies to Watch

Out of the Silent Planet

Informational (Subjective)

Waiting for the Big 3

Extinction of an Industry

An End to the Patriot Act

The Energy Game

Opinion/Commentary

Invasion of the Pod People

The Stupid Vaccine Revisited

The Challenge of Critical Thinking

#Jeffwecan

In Search of Feminism

An End to the Patriot Act

The Walking Dead Theorem

Cruizin’ for a Bruisin’

Sick Children’s Books

My Moral Compass is Broken

The Pursuit of Knowledge

An Argument for Agnosticism

Go Ahead… Make my Grade

Supersize Me? Not Anymore

War Pigs Redux

Why Scott Walker is a Douchebag

The Stupid Vaccine

Humor/Satire

Fair and Balanced

The Toilet Seat Debate

The Blog About Nothing

The Stupid Vaccine Revisited

Words I Like to Say

#Jeffwecan

A List of Nevers

In Search of Feminism

When I’m 64

Cruizin’ for a Bruisin’

Sick Children’s Books

Interview with Bigfoot

Put on a Happy Face

Men Are Pigs. Thanks

Musings

The Stupid Vaccine

5 Things That Are Better Than Stepping on a Cat

Entertainment

My Mancrush on Gary Oldman

Interview with Bigfoot

My Mancrush on Michael Jai White

Short Story

Fair and Balanced

Witness at a Funeral

Writing/Personal

The Spark

The Man on the Wall

The Blog About Nothing

Words I Like to Say

In Search of Feminism

When I’m 64

Death by Elocution

A Life Without Fear

Highway 163 (Part 2 – There and Back Again)

Highway 163 (Part 1 – The Journey North)

Supersize Me? Not Anymore

 

~V

Speak and Be Heard! (or write and be seen, actually)

